Idea

Aid AAid for Artist in Exile helps artists from anywhere in the world who are persecuted in their home countries for standing up for freedom of expression, human rights and democracy, and as a result are being prevented from carrying out their creative work in the areas of theatre, fine art, literature, film and music. The artists are often forced to leave their countries and built up a new existence in exile.

Aid A awards scholarships to individual artists who through their creative work continue championing democracy and human rights in their home countries.

Aid A also promotes projects by artists in exile and initiates its own projects to raise awareness about the situation in the respective countries, to ease integration and to inspire political discourse.

In the spirit of its founders, Aid A is continuing the work started by Ariane Mnouchkine and Patrice Chéreau in Paris in 1979 with the association AIDA (Association Internationale de Défense des Artistes): »We will bear witness, we will be the echo of those who call out for help. We will disseminate their writings, reproduce their drawings, ceaselessly repeat their words and perform their music.«

Executive Board

The actress, lecturer and presenter Christiane Filla, and the theatre director Anna Schildt came to know each other in 2008. Since then the two women have been linked not only through their work in theatre but also through their political involvement in associations that point out grievances and aim to improve the situation of artists. Christiane Filla is involved in the Federal Association of Film and TV Actors (BFFS), and Anna Schildt was in the Federation of Independent Performing Arts in Hamburg. Since 2017 they have been on the executive board of Aid A and are now working together to support politically persecuted artists.

 

Christiane Filla

Christiane Filla was born in Iserlohn in 1970 and grew up in Aachen and Hilden. After studying German literature and language, art and the history of architecture, she trained in acting and dance at the Stage School in Hamburg. Christiane Filla has been performing as an actor on stage and in front of the camera since 1992. She also works as a writer, director and lecturer for acting in Hamburg and has been involved in the Federal Association of Film and TV Actors (BFFS) since 2006. In 2007 Christiane Filla founded the actors’ collective ›Schauspielerkollektiv Hohenesch‹.

www.christiane-filla.de

Anna Schildt

Anna Schildt was born in Hamburg in 1976. She studied theatre directing at the Institute of Theatre, Music Theatre and Film which belongs to the University of Hamburg, and at today’s Academy of Theatre and Music in Hamburg. This was followed by theatre and music management at the Ludwig-Maximilians University and the Bavarian Theatre Academy in Munich. Her works range from classic theatre to site-specific performances in urban spaces, and documentary installations in places not intended for such purposes. In addition to this she was on the board of the Federation of Independent Performing Arts in Hamburg and on the board of the sponsoring organisation for the festival of performing arts ›Hauptsache Frei‹ in Hamburg.
www.anna-schildt.de

Become A Member

Help artists in exile – become a member of Aid A.
Your annual contribution helps directly.

It’s very simple: Please fill out the form below and send it off. You will receive a confirmation email from us.
Or fill out the membership application as a PDF and send it by e-mail to: mail@aid-a.com.
You can also print the PDF, fill it in and send it in a suitably stamped envelope: Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V., Hospitalstrasse 107, House 3, 22767 Hamburg.

Statutes
You can view the statutes of Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e.V. here and
download them here.

MEMBERSHIP APPLICATION

YES, I hereby apply for membership in Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e.V.
I acknowledge the statutes I have read here: www.aid-a.com/en/statute.

NOTES ON DATA PROTECTION

Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. collects, stores and processes your data in order to communicate with you. Your personal data will not be passed on to third parties. I authorize the Deutsche Post AG, in case of an address change my data to Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. pass on.

I agree that my name as well as my job or function in support of the work of Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. may be called public.

SEPA - DEBIT MANDATE

Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V., Hospitalstraße 107, Haus 3, 22767 Hamburg
Creditor identification number: DE98 ZZZ0 0002 0431 59
Recurring payments      
I / We authorize the Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. to collect payments from my / our account by direct debit.
At the same time, I / we assign my / our credit institution, which has been approved by Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. redeem direct debits drawn on my / our account.
NOTE: I can / We can claim reimbursement of the amount debited within eight weeks of the debit date. The conditions agreed with my / our bank apply.
Before the first debit entry of a SEPA direct debit, Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e.V. teach me in this type of procedure.

History

1979 marks the founding year of AIDA (Association Internationale de Défense des Artistes). The incident that triggered this action was the trial in camera of the Czech writer and later President Vláclav Havel that same year. The government defamed and arrested him and other artists for being members of the civil rights movement Charta 77 and as signatories to the manifesto of the same name which called for the fulfilment of civil and human rights in their country.

The film, theatre and opera director from Paris Patrice Chéreau took down verbatim transcriptions of the trial from family members in Prague. This material formed the basis for the theatre reconstruction of the trial which was performed at the Théâtre du Soleil under the leadership of Ariane Mnouchkine. At the end of the performance Ms Mnouchkine appealed to artists throughout the world to join together to help their persecuted colleagues. The aim of the association was to raise public awareness about the fate of persecuted artists through creative actions and events.

In addition to Vláclav Havel, AIDA also supported people including the Uruguayan pianist Alba Gonzales Souza, the South African poet and painter Breyten Breytenbach, the Russian cartoonist Vyacheslav Sissoyev and the Albanian composer Dhora Leka. A German section of AIDA was founded in February 1980 following the German performance of the trial reconstruction. Aid A (Aid for Artists in Exile) has retained the sequence of characters to form a new name. It is continuing the work of the former association but has now created a new focus for its work. It is continuing its support for the Chinese writer and dissident Wei Jingsheng who has been living in the USA since his release from prison in 1997 and who works there for the promotion of democracy in China through the Wei Jingsheng Foundation.

Ariane Mnouchkine, founder of AIDA in 2015

Picture Archive

Historical photo documents of actions, demonstrations, charity concerts, exhibitions and performances. In addition, posters, flyers and a fax from Salman Rushdie to AIDA.

Demonstration in Hamburg for the release of Chinese publicist Wei Jingsheng, early 1990s

Charity concert for AIDA in the Hamburg based music club Fabrik, mid-1980s

A performative action by AIDA at the Hamburg Rathausmarkt, 1982

Various posters for exhibitions, readings and actions of AIDA from the years 1992 to 2000

Two flyers from AIDA, mid-1990s

Fax from Salman Rushdie to AIDA, 1993

Spenden

Aid A needs your support to help others. We are happy about every donation, it benefits 100% of the artists.

GLS Bank
IBAN: DE14 4306 0967 2071 1467 00
BIC: GENODEM1GLS

For a donation receipt please send us a short e-mail:

Idee

Aid A hilft Künstler*innen aus aller Welt, die aufgrund ihres persönlichen Eintretens für Meinungsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Demokratie in ihren jeweiligen Heimatländern verfolgt und an ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen in den Bereichen Theater, bildende Kunst, Literatur, Film und Musik gehindert werden. Häufig sind die Künstler*innen gezwungen, ihr Land zu verlassen und sich im Exil eine neue Existenz aufzubauen.

Aid A vergibt Stipendien an Einzelkünstler*innen, die sich im Exil mit ihrer Kunst weiterhin als Botschafter*innen für Demokratie und Menschenrechte in ihren Heimatländern einsetzen, fördert Projekte von Exilkünstler*innen und initiiert eigene Kulturprojekte, um auf die Situation in den jeweiligen Ländern hinzuweisen, die Integration zu begünstigen und einen politischen Diskurs anzuregen.

Aid A setzt die Arbeit des von Ariane Mnouchkine und Patrice Chéreau im Jahr 1979 in Paris gegründeten Vereins AIDA (Association Internationale de Défense des Artistes /Internationale Vereinigung zur Verteidigung verfolgter Künstler) im Sinne ihrer Gründer*innen fort: »Wir werden Zeugnis ablegen, wir werden das Echo derjenigen sein, die um Hilfe rufen. Wir werden ihre Schriften vervielfältigen, ihre Zeichnungen nachmalen, ohne Unterlass ihre Worte wiederholen, ihre Musik aufführen«.

Vorstand

Die Schauspielerin, Dozentin und Moderatorin Christiane Filla und die Theaterregisseurin und Kulturmanagerin Anna Schildt haben sich 2008 kennengelernt. Seit dem verbindet die beiden Frauen nicht nur die Arbeit im Theater, sondern auch ihre jeweilige politische Verbandsarbeit, mit der sie auf Missstände hinweisen und die Bedingungen für Künstler*innen verbessern wollen. Christiane Filla engagiert sich im Bundesverband Schauspiel e.V. (BFFS) und Anna Schildt im Dachverband Freie Darstellende Künste Hamburg e.V. Seit 2017 setzen sie sich im Vorstand von Aid A nun gemeinsam für politisch verfolgte Künstler*innen ein.

Christiane Filla

Christiane Filla, geboren 1970, ist in Aachen und Hilden aufgewachsen. Nach dem Studium der Germanistik, Kunst- und Baugeschichte an der RWTH Aachen absolvierte sie eine Schauspiel- und Tanzausbildung an der Stage School in Hamburg. Seit 1992 steht Christiane Filla als Schauspielerin auf der Bühne und vor der Kamera. Sie arbeitet außerdem als Autorin, Regisseurin und Dozentin für Schauspiel in Hamburg und engagiert sich seit 2006 im Bundesverband Schauspiel e.V. (BFFS). 2007 gründete Christiane Filla das Schauspielerkollektiv Hohenesch.
www.christiane-filla.de

Anna Schildt

Anna Schildt, geboren 1976 in Hamburg, studierte Theaterregie am Institut für Theater, Musiktheater und Film der Universität Hamburg und der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg (heute: Theaterakademie Hamburg) sowie Theater- und Musikmanagement an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität und der Bayerischen Theaterakademie in München. Ihre Arbeiten reichen von klassischen Theaterinszenierungen über Sitespecific-Performances im Stadtraum und dokumentarischen Installationen an nicht dafür bestimmten Orten. Darüber hinaus war sie im Vorstand vom Dachverband Freie Darstellende Künste Hamburg e.V. sowie im Vorstand des Trägervereins für das Festival der Darstellenden Künste »Hauptsache Frei «in Hamburg.
www.anna-schildt.de

Mitglied werden

Helfen Sie Künstler*innen im Exil – werden Sie Mitglied bei Aid A.
Ihr jährlicher Beitrag hilft direkt.

Es ist ganz einfach: Bitte füllen Sie das unten stehende Formular vollständig aus und senden Sie es ab. Sie erhalten dann von uns eine Bestätigungsmail.
Oder sie füllen den Mitgliedsantrag als PDF aus und senden Sie ihn per E-Mail an: .
Sie können das PDF auch ausdrucken, ausfüllen und schicken es in einem ausreichend frankierten Briefumschlag an: Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V., Hospitalstraße 107, Haus 3, 22767 Hamburg.

Satzung
Die Satzung von Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e.V. können Sie hier einsehen und hier gibt es sie als Download.

MITGLIEDSANTRAG

JA, ich beantrage hiermit die Mitgliedschaft in Aid A. - Aid for Artists in Exile e.V.
Ich erkenne die Satzung an, die ich hier eingesehen habe: www.aid-a.com/satzung.

HINWEISE ZUM DATENSCHUTZ

Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. erfasst, speichert und verarbeitet Ihre Daten, um mit Ihnen zu kommunizieren. Ihre persönlichen Daten werden nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.
Ich berechtige die Deutsche Post AG, im Falle einer Anschriftenänderung meine Daten an Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. weiterzugeben.

Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mein Name sowie mein Beruf bzw. meine Funktion zur Unterstützung der Arbeit von Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. öffentlich genannt werden darf.

SEPA - LASTSCHRIFTMANDAT

Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V., Hospitalstraße 107, Haus 3, 22767 Hamburg
Gläubiger-Identifikationsnummer: DE98 ZZZ0 0002 0431 59
Wiederkehrende Zahlungen      
Ich/Wir ermächtige(n) den Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. Zahlungen von meinem/unseren Konto mittels Lastschrift einzuziehen.
Zugleich weise(n) ich/wir mein/unser Kreditinstitut an, die von Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e. V. auf mein/unser Konto gezogenen Lastschriften einzulösen.
HINWEIS: ich kann/Wir können innerhalb von acht Wochen, beginnend mit dem Belastungsdatum, die Erstattung des belasteten Betrages verlangen. Es gelten dabei die mit meinem/unserem Kreditinstitut vereinbarten Bedingungen.
Vor dem ersten Einzug einer SEPA-Basis-Lastschrift wird mich Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile e.V. über den Einzug in dieser Verfahrensart unterrichten.

Historie

1979 ist das Gründungsjahr von AIDA (Association Internationale de Défense des Artistes). Anlass war der im gleichen Jahr unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit stattgefundene Prozess gegen den tschechischen Schriftsteller und späteren Präsidenten Vaclav Havel. Er und weitere Künstler*innen wurden als Mitglieder der Bürgerrechtsbewegung Charta 77 und als Unterzeichner des gleichnamigen Manifestes, in dem sie das Einhalten der Bürger- und Menschenrechte in ihrem Land forderten, von der Regierung verleumdet und verhaftet.

Die vom Pariser Film- Theater- und Opernregisseur Patrice Chéreau in Prag aufgezeichneten Gedächtnisprotokolle der Angehörigen bildeten die Grundlage für die Rekonstruktion und theatralische Aufarbeitung des Prozesses am Théâtre du Soleil unter der Leitung von Ariane Mnouchkine. Am Ende der Aufführung appellierte Mnouchkine an die Künstler*innen aus aller Welt, sich zusammenzuschließen, um den verfolgten Kolleg*innen zu helfen. Ziel des Vereins war es, öffentlichkeitswirksam mit künstlerischen Aktionen auf das Schicksal verfolgter Künstler*innen aufmerksam zu machen.

Neben Vaclav Havel hat AIDA unter anderem die uruguayische Pianistin Alba Gonzales Souza, den südafrikanischen Dichter und Maler Breyten Breytenbach, den russischen Karikaturisten Wjatscheslaw Sissojew und die albanische Komponistin Dhora Leka unterstützt. Eine deutsche Sektion der AIDA wurde im Februar 1980 nach der deutschen Aufführung der Rekonstruktion des Prozesses gegründet.

Aid A – Aid for Artists in Exile – führt mit gleicher Buchstabenfolge aber unter neuem Namen und mit neuer inhaltlicher Ausrichtung die Arbeit der Vereins fort und unterstützt weiterhin den chinesischen Schriftsteller und Dissidenten Wei Jingsheng, der seit seiner Freilassung 1997 in den USA lebt und sich von dort mit der Wei Jingsheng Foundation für die Demokratisierung Chinas einsetzt.

AIDA-Gründerin Ariane Mnouchkine 2015

Bildarchiv

Historische Fotodokumente von Aktionen, Demonstrationen, Benefizkonzerten, Ausstellungen und Performances. Außerdem Plakate, Flyer und ein Fax von Salman Rushdie an AIDA.

Demonstration in Hamburg für die Freilassung des chinesischen Publizisten Wei Jingsheng, Anfang der 1990er Jahre

Benefizkonzert für AIDA in der Hamburger Fabrik, Mitte der 1980er Jahre

Eine performative Aktion von AIDA auf dem Hamburger Rathausmarkt, 1982

Verschiedene Plakate für Ausstellungen, Lesungen und Aktionen von AIDA aus den Jahren 1992 bis 2000

Zwei Flyer von AIDA, Mitte der 1990er Jahre

Fax von Salman Rushdie an AIDA, 1993

Spenden

Aid A benötigt Ihre Unterstützung, um anderen zu helfen. Wir freuen uns über jede Spende, sie kommt zu 100% den Künstler*innen zugute.

GLS Bank
IBAN: DE14 4306 0967 2071 1467 00
BIC: GENODEM1GLS

Für eine Spendenbescheinigung senden Sie uns bitte eine kurze E-Mail:
mail@aid-a.com